Combined Calendar Report - Can I Automate Labels?

Options

Hello!

I am a Project Manager trying to redesign how my company uses Smartsheet internally, and I'm hoping to use Smartsheet to replace several other tools we currently use. My current goal is to create a Dashboard where an individual on my team can see a calendar of all their tasks for the week or month, with multiple projects combined into one calendar view. The way I've managed to do it so far is to create a report that pulls data from multiple sheets and with Calendar View enabled I can see all the tasks in one place. See attached image.

My issue is that there is no delineation between projects. We have similar processes between projects, so there could easily be a "Deliver Final Version" task from multiple projects. I would like for the viewer to be able to see at a glance which project each task is for, but I am not able to figure out how. Ideally, the report would re-label items to be something like "Project A - Deliver Final Version" and "Project B - Deliver Final Version" in the calendar view. I'm not able to figure out how that's possible without going in and editing each entry manually.

One potential solution is to have each task name contain the project title within its original entry, but having several hundred entries that all say "Project A..." within a sheet that is for Project A is redundant, especially if that schedule is client facing.

Is there a better way to combine calendars from multiple sheets in a way that is visually delineated? I'm not attached to using reports, I just would like to have my staff be able to see all tasks assigned to them within their dashboard.

Thanks for the help!

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @Ethan Moses

I hope you're well and safe!

You can add a so-called helper column or a Sheet Summary field indicating what project it is and then add a second helper column for each row task name.