Update Requests to Multiple People: Only 1 Link Can be Used

I have been using SmartSheet for a few years and noticed recently that the functionality of Update Requests, when sent to multiple users, has changed. Previously, if I sent the same update request to 2 people, each could use the update link one time. Now, only the first person can use the link, and when the second person needs to use the link, I have to go in and resend the request to that person. I have created separate automations for each person as a work around, but I'd really rather have everything setup in 1 automation so I don't have to make multiple updates if job assignments change.

Best Answer

• Jaykel Torres
    Jaykel Torres Employee
    Answer ✓

Hey @Renee Marx,

Typically if an Update Request is sent to multiple Users via Automation Workflow, each recipient will receive their own Update Request Form that can only be used once after submission. Even if one recipient fills out the form, the other recipients are still allowed to fill in their specific form.

It does sound like you are experiencing unexpected behavior, I do recommend reaching out to our Smartsheet Technical Support team here: https://help.smartsheet.com/contact for further assistance.

In the meantime, you can keep the Update Requests under the same Automation Workflow simply by adding additional subsequent Update Request Action Blocks (but sent to different recipients) to the workflow.

I hope this helps!

Jaykel

Answers

• Jaykel Torres
    Jaykel Torres Employee
    Answer ✓

Hey @Renee Marx,

Typically if an Update Request is sent to multiple Users via Automation Workflow, each recipient will receive their own Update Request Form that can only be used once after submission. Even if one recipient fills out the form, the other recipients are still allowed to fill in their specific form.