How to mirror a Column from Master Sheet

Hello!

I am stuck and not sure what else to try. I have a master sheet where we collect all of our projects. The Project column is used across several other sheets and we currently have to manually update every time a project is added or updated. 

Is there a way to update all Project columns in the other sheets based on the Project column of the master sheet? Workflow? API?

Some sheets I do not need all of the projects, but just projects for a certain season. For that, we would search for any project associated with the particular season. (Example S20 or 2020 Spring depending on which column we need to search from)

Screenshot is attached with an example sheet of how ours is set up.

• Cell linking works until new rows are added.
  • The formulas I have tried will only return the first match.
  • Copying Row will not work since I do not need all of the additional columns.

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Have you looked into pulling reports instead of additional sheets?

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

CERTIFIED SMARTSHEET PLATINUM PARTNER

10xViz.com

• Karisa Ely
    Karisa Ely ✭✭✭

@Paul Newcome Yes, forgot to add that. I have tried reports, but I'm either not report savvy or it doesn't fit what I need.

The project column is only populated on the master sheet and the only common column across the different sheets. I create a report to include the master sheet and the sheet I want to update. Then when I add in the columns I want to add information to, I cannot edit them.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Ok. So... There is a way to replicate the Project column, but it requires a little bit of planning ahead and will not be able to replicate the hierarchy.

So if you have