External Ability to Comment on a Published Report

Allison Rickert
edited 05/05/22 in Smartsheet Basics

Hi! One of our clients is asking to have the ability to make comments within a published timeline report. It appears I'm only able to share the published link to the report as "read-only," though I am an admin (see attached). Is there any way to share the report so that external users can comment?

Best Answers

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi @Allison Rickert

There currently isn't a way to Publish a Report and allow for Comments. (See: Publish a Sheet, Report, or Dashboard)

You would want to directly share the Source Sheet with this collaborator with Commenter permissions, then share the actual Report in Smartsheet with Commenter permissions as well, versus using a Published link.

If you're on a Business or Enterprise plan, this shared collaborator doesn't have to be a part of your account or licensed in order to add comments to Smartsheet items. (See Sharing Permission Table)

Cheers,

Genevieve

Join us at Smartsheet ENGAGE 2024 🎉
    October 8 - 10, Seattle, WA | Register now

• Allison Rickert
    edited 05/05/22 Answer ✓
  • Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi @Allison Rickert

You would need to share the underlying sheet in order for anyone shared to the Report to see the data being pulled through. You could share the Report without the sheet, but then it would appear as blank for that user because they're not allowed to see the source. (See: Share or Publish Your Report)

Publishing enables viewers to see the Report without needing to be shared to the underlying sheet, but then they cannot have any sort of Editor access, including Commenter permissions.

The way you share your data will depend on what's more important - do you need them to edit data, or do you want to hide data in the sheet?