Help! Complete newbie trying to operate a basic expensive spreadsheet after 25 years of hand written

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi @Margaretann Bennett

The reason you're seeing an error is because the column name isn't quite the same - see how your name at the top has a space between "Expense" and "1"?

You'll need to have the Space in your formula as well (names will need to be identical, down to each character).

=SUM([Expense 1]:[Expense 1])

Then once you have this in one column, you can simply drag-fill the formula across your row to the right to have it update the referenced column automatically!

Join us at Smartsheet ENGAGE 2024 🎉
    October 8 - 10, Seattle, WA | Register now

Answers

• Yes! I am so useless I cannot even work out how to ask a question properly in this forum🤭

As I was trying to ask above... help! I'm old skool, have been doing paper hand written spreadsheets for 25 years!

Have managed to create an expenses spreadsheet on here with named column where I vertically add my expenses.

Please can someone tell me the simple process for adding these columns up vertically to get the total in each column? I have contacted customer support email twice, who took ages to respond and then simply redirected me to the useless worksheets, which are not responding for me as directed.

I click within a cell at the bottom of a row of numbers, I go to the top right in the tool bar and select SUM. This opens a window which I don't understand and cannot navigate. I get error message in the box when I enter return.

I am missing something no doubt. Please there must be a simpler process to do such a basic function as adding up some numbers?

• James Keuning
    James Keuning ✭✭✭✭✭

Put this in that cell:

=SUM([YourColumnName]:[YourColumnName])

But hitting that SUM button and then just hitting the ENTER key should get you what you need.

• I get the same error message #INCORRECT ARGUMENT SET appearing in the cell