Are attachments completely deleted when a sheet is deleted?

Hi All,

We are reviewing our destruction of confidential information process/policies. Wondering what happens to sheet attachments when a sheet is deleted? Are attached files / URL links completely destroyed and untraceable once the file is deleted from the deleted folder? Appreciate that any user downloads/reproductions would not be destroyed when a sheet is deleted.

Answers

  • Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin

    Hi @IBRIEOG

    When a sheet is deleted it moves to the owner's trash folder for 30 days. After 30 days have passed, the sheet is fully deleted from that Smartsheet account, including all of the attached files associated with that sheet.

    There are occasions where Smartsheet Support may be able to retrieve a deleted sheet and its attachments if they are contacted by the owner soon after the trash has been emptied, but in general that sheet and all of its attachments are fully deleted.

    Cheers,

    Genevieve