Filtering on dashboards?

dlnvtl
dlnvtl
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I'm new to smartsheet and trialing it at the moment. I have a question, I hope you can help me with:

I have a portfolio of companies in a main sheet and their debt issues, and related stuff in several sheets. Rows are companies/debt issues, columns are details of these. I want to collate all this into the dashboard used the different widgets - a dashboard on a _per company_ basis. So, a dashboard showing all the company info, financials, debt etc in one dashboard.

As far as I can see, normally you will use the dashboard to present aggregated information. I need to show filtered information, filtered on a per-company basis.

I am wondering if there is a way to change the contents presented in the dashboard, based on dropdowns, filters, settings, etc. - and this has to be something that is user-friendly, so not altering values in some remote area of a sheet. Ideally, I want a dropdown on the dashboard, which basically allows the users to select the company they want "dashboarded" information on. 

I don't think I can do this in a report function since I need to show graphs. Only dashboard does graphs. 

Any help is greatly appreciated, I have been over the documentation, community, googling etc. and can't seem to find a way around this.

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi,

Welcome to the Community and the wonderful world of Smartsheet!

There are many ways to structure a Dashboard/Portal. Here are a few examples.

1. A Portal with links to all the companies individual Dashboards
    2. A Dashboard with an overview of all companies that you then can drill down to the different companies Dashboards
    3. A selectable drop-down that could filter what data to show in the Dashboard but it would have to be reloaded after each change.

Would any of those examples work/help? Which one would you prefer?

Hope that helps!

Have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå