Automated workflow trigger not working

I have set up a series of simple workflows to change a cell's value based on data in another cell. If the source cell value is changed to "50%" for example, the destination cell will automatically be updated with the number 5. There are several different source cells being used, some of which are "yes/no", and some with a dollar value. All of the workflows I have set up are functioning as they should, so as soon as I save the page they are updated. There is one that does not want to work though. The source cell is a dollar value, and I cant figure out why the same pathway I set up for the other triggers isnt working. All source cells are set up as single option dropdowns, so the cell matches the trigger exactly (ie not $0.00, it will only show $0, which matches the trigger)

Answers

• Hi.

I am very new to Smartsheet but I already encountered similar problems with %. Maybe try in workflow to refer to 0.9 instead of 90%.

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @Kayt Lejeck @Aleksandra B.

I hope you're well and safe!

Smartsheet looks at the numbers in a column formatted for percentage as values between 0 and 1. You'd need to use decimal values instead for it to work 

25% = 0,25 (0.25)

50% = 0,5 (0.5)

100% = 1

Depending on your country/region, you'll need to exchange the comma for a period.

Did that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Have a fantastic week & Happy Holidays!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35