Index/Match always returns the same

Options
Jose da Silva
Jose da Silva ✭✭✭✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

Hi all,

Been searching on the community but could not find an answer to my issue. Sorry if i missed it.

So i have a Master sheet for the sales team, with all the customers to contact, with one rep allocated on each of those customers.

Then, the individual reps will have their own spreadsheets with only their allocated customers.

What i am trying to do now is, everytime that a new customer gets allocated to a rep on the Master sheet, i want it to be updated on their individual spreadsheets automatically.

I tried to do an INDEX/MATCH with the customer code, but the formula keeps repeating the same code, which means that it disregards if there are more results on the Main sheet. It finds one and stops. Here is the formula:

=INDEX({Leads Master Sheet Range 1}, MATCH("Emma Parnham", {Leads Master Sheet Range 3}))

...where:

Leads Master Sheet Range 1 - customer code column on the Master

Emma Parnham - rep name (will vary amongst a dozen)

Leads Master Sheet Range 3 - rep name column on the Master

Appreciated for the help!

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi Jose,

Yes, the value has to be unique so you would need to make it unique with a combination of fields or row id if possible.

Can you describe your process in more detail and maybe share some screenshots? (Delete/replace any confidential/sensitive information before sharing) That would make it easier to help.

Hope that helps!

Have a fantastic weekend!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant @ Get Done Consulting

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Jose da Silva
    Jose da Silva ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi Andree,