Recently I became aware that Smartsheet is removing the ability to delete user accounts from the user list. This is incredibly troubling to me and the organizational policies that I follow.
I was advised by the support representative that the reason for removing the ability to delete user accounts is:
To ensure the ongoing security, stability, and performance of the Smartsheet application, Smartsheet recently removed the ability to delete users from the Admin Center. Please note that the delete capability will be removed from all interfaces – including API, Directory Integration, Legacy Admin Center, Bridge etc. With the delete action removed, customers should instead deactivate users that must have their Smartsheet access revoked. Beyond offering a secure means of removing users from your account, deactivation will improve your experience by helping mitigate issues associated with asset ownership transfers and also enables the ability to re-activate the user if needed.
At my company, we delete users from the system after a period of time. When someone leaves and comes back to the company, we don't reactivate their account. They get an entirely NEW network account. Thus, making your reasons for removing the ability to delete users, a moot point for my company.
I also don't understand how this improves your stability at all. I would think keeping user accounts within the system would not improve stability, but actually have a negative affect since unused accounts are essentially being stored within the system..
Not to mention, leaving unused accounts in the system does actually cause security concerns, regardless of whether they are deactivated or not. Lessening the abilities of the sys admin to properly administrate the system is confusing to me.
Lastly, this change is removing the ability to properly administer our account. I feel like, as consumers, we should be able to dictate and administer our accounts as we see fit. Which, by you removing the delete function from multiple screens, is taking away our ability to effectively do our jobs. I receive numerous complaints when people that are no longer with our company appear in user lists. Or appear as someone available in the user list when sharing.
I feel this is a terrible change and one that does not make a lot of sense. I'd really love some deeper insight to help me understand why this change was necessary, given everything I know regarding security and stability is opposite of what you all are providing.