Multiple cells locked to single formula in same column

idenroc
idenroc ✭✭
edited 06/02/23 in Formulas and Functions

I'm relatively new to Smartsheet and use it as a tertiary tool, so apologies if this is a 'basic' question.

What I want is to tweak a formula on one row of a column and have it apply all other rows that reference that cell in the same column so I don't have to copy the tweaked @row + Parent, Children, or Ancestors (sometimes) formula all the way up the column manually, potentially missing some cells.

Thanks in advance!

Best Answer

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Column formulas wouldn't take away the ability to have parent row formulas separate from child row formulas. It would work similar to my previous example.

You have one formula you want on parent rows:

=SUM(CHILDREN())

You have another formula you want on the child rows:

=[Phase Fee]@row / PARENT([Hourly Rate]@row))

You combine them like so:

=IF(COUNT(CHILDREN()) = 0, child_row_formula, parent_row_formula)

=IF(COUNT(CHILDREN()) = 0, [Phase Fee]@row / PARENT([Hourly Rate]@row)), SUM(CHILDREN()))

Answers

• Dan W
    Dan W ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 06/02/23

Looks like you may want the "Column formula" option.

Here is a link to the How to article

https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/2481944-set-formulas-for-all-rows-with-column-formulas

• idenroc
    idenroc ✭✭

@Dan W Thanks for your response!

That is close to what I'm looking for but not quite for 2 reasons. First, I don't have a "Business Plan or Higher", which is required to apply column formulas 🙄. Second, some cells in the column might be a parent to cells below, which will contain something like =sum(children()) to get a total for the values calculated below, so can't have one formula to rule the column.

• Dan W
    Dan W ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 06/02/23

What about using the $ to lock in a cell?

Such as [Column]$3

• idenroc
    idenroc ✭✭