IF/And/Join/Collect

Options
Jbakertm
Jbakertm ✭✭
edited 11/16/23 in Formulas and Functions

Hi Smartsheets community,

I am trying to create a summary field in a sheet that joins all the text from one column that meets these criteria:

• has a created date less than 20 days old
  • has a label of "decision" in another column
  • OR a star for priority in another column.

I have a sheet used to track RAID entries, and leadership wants a dashboard that presents Decisions, Risks and Issues individually with a focus on priority and doesn't leave outdated information for review. I did create a report that does this, but they want a "streamline" dashboard (they want it to appear as text in boxes) and I can't figure out how to get each of these denoted separately without making individual reports for each RAID type.

I am new to Smartsheets, so there may be an easier way. The formula I have been working with is:

=IF(AND([Created Date]<TODAY(+20), [RAIDL_Type]="Decision", [Priority]=1), JOIN(COLLECT(DetailedDescription13:DetailedDescription56),;)," ")

Best Answer

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

I would suggest a helper column in the sheet (checkbox is recommended) that checks the box on every row that meets the criteria and then use the JOIN/COLLECT combo to filter based on this helper column.

=IF(AND([Created Date]@row> TODAY(-20), OR([This Column]@row = "This", [That Column]@row = "That")), 1)

Then your JOIN/COLLECT

=JOIN(COLLECT([Column To Join]:[Column To Join], [Helper Column]:[Helper Column], @cell = 1), "delimiter of choice")

Answers

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

I would suggest a helper column in the sheet (checkbox is recommended) that checks the box on every row that meets the criteria and then use the JOIN/COLLECT combo to filter based on this helper column.

=IF(AND([Created Date]@row> TODAY(-20), OR([This Column]@row = "This", [That Column]@row = "That")), 1)

Then your JOIN/COLLECT