Can I turn comma separated lists into multiple-choice dropdowns?

The title basically says it all. I have a column that was built in Excel, with multiple items separated by commas (no spaces) to make a string of about 1-5 items. We're moving our processes into Smartsheet, and I want this information to be formatted as a dropdown column with each item chosen as a separate entry.

Smartsheet doesn't seem to be able to support this very easily. Does anyone have a suggestion for a formula or other solution that would automate the multiple choice selection?

This is an oversimplified version, but what I'm looking to achieve:

Any help/thoughts would be appreciated! Just learning Smartsheets and it's an adventure for sure :)

Best Answer

• SSFeatures
    SSFeatures ✭✭✭
    Answer βœ“

Hi @sarahsfocused,

I believe that https://ddupdate.com/ is a third party application that might solve this problem. I have never used it before and I cannot vouch for it in anyway whatsoever.

Other than that, I found this thread which seems similar to this one:

I don't think it's possible within SmartSheet at the moment. You can use the SmartSheet API, which is what DDUpdate does. The SmartSheet API is free, so if you have a coder on your team, they can implement it without needing a third party app. Additionally, the thread mentions that you can use Data Shuttle to solve the problem.

Hope this helps!

SSFeatures - The browser extension that adds more features into SmartSheet.

• Automatic sorting, sorting with filters, saving sort settings
    • Spell checking
    • Report PDF generator that supports grouped and summarized reports

Answers

• SSFeatures
    SSFeatures ✭✭✭
    Answer βœ“

Hi @sarahsfocused,

I believe that https://ddupdate.com/ is a third party application that might solve this problem. I have never used it before and I cannot vouch for it in anyway whatsoever.

Other than that, I found this thread which seems similar to this one: