Using checkbox to add value in another cell.

Options
Al ISS
Al ISS ✭✭
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I am not an expert on excel but I am trying to add value (more specific: adding date/time or just time automatically) to another cell just checking a check box cell.

Is this possible on smartsheet? 

Thanks. Al

Answers

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Yes, it is possible with a formula. I think some more detail would be necessary to fully answer your question. You can use an IF statement to add values... but if you want to add to a value that is already on the sheet you will want a new category to do it... 

Say you have a value column called Value, a checkbox value called Checkbox and a sum column. 

In the sum column (row 24) you could add this formula. 

=IF(checkbox24 = 1, sum24 + 50, sum24)

If you put the above formula into the sum column, this would add 50 to the value of sum24 in your sum column when the check box is checked, or it would just place the value of sum24 if it wasn't. 

Hope that helps. 

• Robert S.
    Robert S. Employee
    Options

Hello Mike,

This is a great way to do this, however I think there was a bit of a typo. Seems like where you have sum24 should actually be value24. Since this formula is going into the Sum column, this would theoretically be referencing itself and would return a #CIRCULAR REFERENCE error. 

=IF(checkbox24 = 1, value24 + 50, value24)

If you put the above formula into the sum column, this would add 50 to the value of value24 in your sum column when the check box is checked, or it would just place the value of value24 if it wasn't. 

• Mike Wilday
    Mike Wilday ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Good catch Robert. That's why they pay you to support the community. laugh

• Al ISS
    Al ISS ✭✭
    Options

Thank you Mike for your email. I've got the email from Robert and it worked perfectly. Al

• Al ISS
    Al ISS ✭✭
    edited 01/22/18
    Options