Setting parent value based on multiple criteria and multiple columns of children

Options
Rowie
Rowie
edited 02/21/21 in Formulas and Functions

Hello community,

Ive scoured the forums, and found some similar questions, but nothing quite like what I need. I'm new at this app and forum, so please advise if I make a mistake in how to ask properly.

I have parent rows, with an unknown number of children underneath. I'm trying to automate the status of the parent based on statuses of the children (which are set manually via a dropdown menu on each child row). I have it working (possibly inefficiently) except for one item (#8).

What I'm trying to accomplish is this.

1. If the ToDo checkbox on parent row is unchecked, the status is NA
  2. If any of the children statuses are "Blocked (High Pri)" then set status of parent to match
  3. If any of the children statuses are "Start ASAP" then set status of parent to match
  4. If any of the children statuses are "In Progress" then set status of parent to match
  5. If any of the children statuses are "Blocked (Low Pri)" then set status of parent to match
  6. If any of the children statuses are "To Do Later" then set status of parent to match
  7. If all children statuses are blank, set status to "Not Started"
  8. Here is the problematic one : Currently, if all children statuses are any combination of Complete, Noted/Closed, or NA, I set parent status to "Complete". What I want to do: completely remove the NA status from the children's status dropdown list, have the user uncheck the "ToDo" checkbox instead when something is Not Applicable, and have the formula check for whether the checkbox in the children's "ToDo" column is unchecked, as part of the OR sequence, replacing the NA status check. So the new logic would be to set parent status to Complete if all children have any combination of Status = Complete, Status = Noted/Closed, or ToDo checkbox is off)