Generating dates based on dropdown choice in another cell

Options

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this and trying to generate a formula that will calculate deadline dates based on dropdown choices in another cell. If we get customer queries by phone, we have a deadline of 2 days' resolution; if we get them by email, it's 10 days. I would like to be able to auto-generate deadline dates for colleagues' reference.

Internal/External is the dropdown column that the colleague will choose to indicate how the query came up

Date Raised is the date column where they state when they received it.

I've gotten this far:

=IF([Internal/External]="Phone", "[Date Raised]+2"), IF([Internal/External]="Email", "[Date Raised]+10"), IF([Internal/External]="Internal", "The responsible colleague should set a reasonable resolution deadline - please enter now"

Also, aside from that, the rows are entered via form. Is there a way for new rows to automatically have this formula in so that again, it can be as automatic as possible?

Thanks everyone!

Best Answer

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @SKP

I hope you're well and safe!

Try something like this.

=
    IF([Internal/External]@row = "Phone", [Date Raised]@row + 2, 
    IF([Internal/External]@row = "Email", [Date Raised]@row + 10, 
    IF([Internal/External]@row = "Internal", 
    "The responsible colleague should set a reasonable resolution deadline - please enter now")))

Did that work/help?

I hope that helps!

Have a fantastic weeend & Happy New Year!

Best,

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

Did my post(s) help or answer your question or solve your problem? Please support the Community by marking it Insightful/Vote Up or/and as the accepted answer. It will make it easier for others to find a solution or help to answer!

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35