Using IF and OR together

I am very new to smartsheet and I am trying to condition a cell to be "Yes" or "No" based on items noted in a specific column

=IF(CONTAINS("ItemA", Order:Order), "Yes", "No")

...but I also want to include OR IF "Item B" OR IF "item C" is there

The don't all have to be there to be "Yes" just at least one of them

Thank you in advance!

Tags:

Answers

• Jeff Reisman
    Jeff Reisman ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 02/18/22

@Sam Walsh

Question 1: Is the string you're looking for just part of the possible value in a cell in the Order column, or is the whole cell equal to ItemA, or ItemB, or ItemC?

Question 2: Are you checking to see if ANY rows in the Order column contain those values, or if just the particular row you're on does?

If you want to check the whole column for the presence of one or more cells that equal any of your three values, you can do this without CONTAINS, but you'll need a COUNTIF in there:

=IF(COUNTIF(Order:Order, OR(@cell = "ItemA", @cell = "ItemB", @cell = "ItemC")) > 1, "Yes", "No")

If you want to check the whole column for the presence of one or more cells that contain any of your three values, you can use CONTAINS:

=IF(OR(CONTAINS("ItemA", Order:Order), CONTAINS("ItemB", Order:Order), CONTAINS("ItemC", Order:Order)), "Yes", "No")

If you just want to check the Order cell on the particular row for your values:

=IF(OR(Order@row = "ItemA", Order@row = "ItemB", Order@row = "ItemC"), "Yes", "No")

If you just want to check if the Order cell on the particular row contains one or more of your values:

=IF(CONTAINS(Order@row = "ItemA", Order@row = "ItemB", Order@row = "ItemC"), "Yes", "No")

Regards,

Jeff Reisman

Link: Smartsheet Functions Help Pages Link: Smartsheet Formula Error Messages

If my answer helped solve your issue, please mark it as accepted so that other users can find it later. Thanks!

• Sam Walsh
    Sam Walsh ✭✭✭