Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Turn hours (hh:mm) to numeric value (00.00)

Carla Dávila
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2017 Posts

Is there a formula to make a column with duration values like 1:30, 2:45, 3:15, etc etc (only ending in either :00, :15, :30, and :45) to 1.5, 2.75, 3.25 hours (again, only ending in .00, .25, .50, and .75, respectively)???

I am VERY new to SmartSheet so, if you could actually explain how to do stuff that would be awesome.

My objective here is to add up task durations (I used a formula someone posted in another thread, that gives me a duration based on start and end times) to see how much time is invested in a specific project during a longer period of time.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 4.06.57 PM.png

Comments

• Project sheets have a duration column (see https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/765737-project-sheet-columns-start-date-end-date-duration-complete-and-predecessors#Duration, https://www.smartsheet.com/solutions/basic-project-with-gantt-and-dependencies and https://www.smartsheet.com/template-gallery/project-management).

Durations are formatted differently than you give in your example. Instead of 1:30 you'd use 1.5h or 1h 30m. You can't put a formula in a duration column but you can use them in formulas in other columns (the duration is converted to a number of days when used in a formula).

These sheets also have start and end date so if you enter those two dates, duration is computed automatically. Or alternatively, if you enter start date and duration, it computes the end date.