Sign in to submit new ideas and vote
Get Started

Sharing reports with data without even view access to the source sheet

Options

Comments

• SueinSpain
    SueinSpain ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

I've been using Smartsheet for 10 years and the reports have gradually been downgraded.

I used to be able to have a free user change the report filter so they could change a date range of a report - it got removed

Up until very very recently I could share a report with editor's rights and they could update the data in the report WITHOUT having access to the smartsheet - now they not only have to have access but it has to be EDITOR access and this is impossible for us as there are 3rd parties involved, confidentiality and GDPR legal requirements to be met.

Smartsheet - you have basically crashed all my reports and now I am absolutely stuck

Sue Rogers

AmerisourceBergen - MWI Animal Health

Business Analyst

• ashtonvia
    Options

Hello! We were having the issues above, but there is a workaround without sharing the sheet and not having to set up WorkApps and Dynamic Views. You create the specific workflow with whoever's email address you want to share the data with, and then when the error pops up that they don't have access to the underlying sheet, you just edit the sheet property. Here you can open it to whom you chose the workflow is shared with. This way, anyone can receive specific data you choose, but they cannot access the larger underlying sheet.

• KCJ
    KCJ ✭✭
    Options

Andrée Starå You should not have to pay more for this very basic task. It's extremely frustrating not being able to share a report and have anyone edit it without sharing the underlying sheet(s)! This should be standard. What's the point of a report if you can't limit what eternal users see and then allow them to edit said report??

• Salèha El D.
    Salèha El D. ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

100% agree, it is essential to  keep the source sheet confidential.