How can I create a material inventory and order form in the same sheet

Options
maccokm
maccokm ✭✭
edited 09/22/23 in Smartsheet Basics

Hello,

I am very new to Smartsheets and am trying to streamline inventory and how our partners order materials from us. Currently, partners email members of our team and someone fulfils and tracks the order manually in an excel sheet.

I want to create a sheet that tracks inventory with an order form that subtracts from the total. I also saw that alerts can be sent when inventory reaches a certain threshold. I would truly appreciate any advice and insight.

Thank you in advance!

Answers

• MichaelTCA
    MichaelTCA ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hello @maccokm

An option would be to set up 2 sheets. One for the source data and a second for analytics.

What do you mean by subtract from the total? I assume you're talking about allocated materials for customer orders?

The analytics sheet will be where all the formulas happen and the source sheet will be where the form is developed/new orders will be submitted.

There's no subtraction function, but you could direct the function to a total value and subtract the sum of the remaining values.

=Total1 - SUM(Product:Product)

I recommend putting the total into another column or into another sheet because you don't want to subtract the total from the total (obviously).

Depending on the complexity, it's possible you may need a 3rd sheet to reference a list of all of your products and the remaining value per product and use a lookup function to pull the correct values. You can have a second form to add inventory as well on the same sheet.

You can also you an automation that will copy rows to another sheet to subtract the current value from the remaining in inventory (from our 3rd sheet). In this case you would use the MIN/COLLECT function to be able to pull the most recent information of what is remaining within inventory, which means you will also need to record dates or use submission dates.