February Question of the Month - Join the conversation and receive a badge

Options

Comments

• JenniferTorres
    JenniferTorres ✭✭✭✭
    Options

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a teacher or a hair stylist. I went the teacher route and taught for three years before transitioning into IT. I've never regretted my decision!

• JenniferTorres
    JenniferTorres ✭✭✭✭
    Options

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a teacher or a hair stylist. I went the teacher route and taught for three years before switching into IT. Now I'm a senior business systems analyst and love my job!

• kfvanbeever
    Options

When I was young, as early as eight if I can recall clearly through the cloudy mists of several decades, I wanted to be an architect. I completed my High School education in three years instead of four so I could get a jumpstart on the five-year architecture program at the University of Oregon – “Go Ducks”. 

In the mid seventies it seemed to me that everyone wanted to be an architect, so I applied and was accepted into the Fine and Applied Arts program. As I started to sign up for Architecture classes I found they were closed to all but the actual Architecture students. I took my first programming course in BASIC and realized that I loved the idea of designing and building something that seemed so logical. Although I switched over to Computer Science, I never lost my passion and interest in architecture, just redirected it towards a different domain.

Although I did complete a two year Architecture degree, in addition to two Computer Science degrees, I devoted my career aspirations to the application of architecture principles I learned to a long career as a Computer Scientist and Technology Consultant. The insights I learned from architecture, drawing and design, as well as the concept of learning as much about all the building blocks of a solution in order to be more creative and successful, were all added to the disciplines of software engineering.