Bridge - JSON parsing - Remove HTML and match date

Options
abrae005
abrae005 ✭✭
edited 03/21/24 in API & Developers

I'm looking for some help on how to extract particular data from a JSON response from an external API call made with Smartsheet Bridge.

The API call is working fine, and I'm getting the JSON response. Part of the response is an indexed set of data within the response, that includes HTML formatting tags. I'd like to strip out the HTML tags and just get the data points.

port: Port Canaveral / date: 09 Mar

port: Cozumel / date: 11 Mar

Then, once I have removed the HTML and have the Date and the Port, I'd like to take that information, and write the Port into a Smartsheet Column for "Destination", matching the date extracted with a "Date" column. (The date column will be pre-populated with a year's worth of sequential dates - 1 per row). Here's a mockup. (Not an actual screenshot from my Smartsheet)

I'm very new to using Bridge, any help you could provide would be highly appreciated.

Answers

• abrae005
    Options

I found a cell formula that will help me remove the HTML tags - basically, using the concept from https://community.smartsheet.com/discussion/90980/isolating-all-text-to-the-right-of-a-character-e-g-in-a-string/ to get a cell with just the destination name (and would also work for just the date)

I'm not sure if all the cell formulas used (RIGHT, LEN, FIND, SUBSTITUTE, CHAR) can be used in Bridge, or if it would be better to have bridge write the JSON response to a helper sheet, use the formula on the cell, and then get that cell's value into Bridge.

I also still need help getting the destination data matched up with the correct date.

• abrae005
    Options

For those who come across this future searching:

I ended up using a modified version of Brian_Richardson's code from the community topic linked below to parse the JSON API response, and included some string functions in the Javascript to remove the HTML tags.

• Brian_Richardson