Automation - one workflow moves row before 2nd workflow can trigger

Options

I'm new to smartsheet (having a blast!), and could use help adjusting my workflow automation to accommodate timing of certain actions near the completion of a task (row).

Simplified scenario: Each row on a sheet represents activity that needs to occur to "new product samples" (one product per row); and when ALL activity for that particular product sample(s) is marked "completed" by a User, automation then moves the row to an Archive sheet. Easy, done! This works always, no problem.

Meanwhile, prior to that action, there is also a checkmark column for "internal samples dispersed" on that sheet; when that gets checked, automation alerts an internal team that their sample(s) are on their desks.

That alert automation works GREAT when "internal samples dispersed" occurs earlier than the "completion" of the entire task/row. But internal samples can happen earlier, OR at the very end. And if it happens at the end, I think my row-move automation occurs first, so the trigger to send alert is missed.

I thought I could change my "move row" automation to occur just 'daily', but automation said I couldn't use a schedule for that workflow, had to use "when triggered".

Sorry if this is such a newbie question. thanks!

Best Answer

• ShaRobinson
    Answer ✓
    Options

Alas, I was wrong with my solution from 4/19 above. Problem was that I didn't understand the concept of "trigger" functionality. The trigger moment would have already passed, and I'd have to run it manually to work.

But good news! I stumbled across a solution that really works.

1st: need automation to alert user when a condition exists, and that has to trigger BEFORE the row moves to another sheet.