How to use the condition in request automation?

Options

I am very new to Smartsheet and needing a bit of help. I am trying to set up a request update automation for individual fields as needed. For example I have approximately 32 fields that are autogenerated from a form. I am then trying to send an automation update request for fields that have a text associated in them, ignoring the other fields that have no text. Could someone help me with this?

Answers

• Spoonhead
    Options

If I'm understanding you correctly, you should be able to do it like this;

Create the Form and Fields:

• Ensure your form is set up correctly and is populating the sheet with the necessary 32 fields.
    • Set Up Conditional Formatting:
      • Use conditional formatting to easily identify which fields have text. This can be done by setting rules that change the cell background colour if the cell is not blank.
    • Create an Update Request Automation:
      • Go to Automation > Create a Workflow.
    • Trigger Configuration:
      • Select "When rows are added or changed" as the trigger for the automation. This will ensure that the automation runs whenever there are changes in your form fields.
    • Condition Configuration:
      • Add conditions to check if each field has text. Here’s how to set up conditions:
        • Click on Add Condition.
        • Set it to check if the specific field is not blank. For example: "Field 1" is not blank.
        • Repeat this step for each field you want to check.
    • Action Configuration:
      • Choose Request an Update as the action.
      • Configure the update request to be sent to the appropriate users. You can customize the message to inform them which fields need updating.
    • Automation Execution:
      • Save and activate your workflow.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Are you able to provide some screenshots for context?

• Ben Warren
    Options

Spoonhead,