Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Linking from a sheet that's reached the 5000 row limit

Options
Craig Cressey
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2017 Posts

Hello Folks,

I’m relatively new to smartsheets (3 months) but I’m diving right in creating sheets for a medium size construction firm.

My recent project is a daily time reporting sheet for approximately 100 field employees.

My sheet is up and running and is being rolled out to a limited number of supervisors during the “shake out” period.

The structure/data input is as follows:

1. Each employee is responsible to enter his or her time daily via a web form.
  2. Each employee enters, their name, date, job name, 2 different activity’s (area worked & activity preformed) and hours. If they performed more than 1 activity in more than 1 area in each day, they need to submit the web form multiple times. e.g. 4 hours on 1st floor / activity A and 4 hours on 2nd floor / activity B.
  3. The foreman for each job site will receive an approval request each day to approval subordinates time entry.
  4. The time sheet is exported to excel once a week and sorted / subtotal and sent to the payroll department.  

The time sheet performs several different functions.

1. On the left side of the sheet I have a lookup table that is queried by several columns that have lookup formulas. The lookup table/s are normally hidden
  2. On the right side of the time sheet is a large area that supports sumifs formulas for totaling hours based on “job name”, “area worked” and “activity preformed”.
  3. All sumifs hours are linked to cells in another sheet that tracks budget hours vs actual hours (time sheet hours).
  4. The large sumifs area is normally hidden.

So, to my question: