Drill into a dashboard

HI all.

I'm still new to Smartsheet. I have a stupid simple question.

How do I get my charts in my Smartsheet dashboard to filter the other widgets? I've poked around the help and youtube and it's never covered. I know it's elementary but I can't figure it out.

Help!

Thanks, SB

Best Answer

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

It isn't necessarily a hyperlink to FILTER the dashboard. It is a duplicated dashboard that has the underlying data updated for that particular "filter". The hyperlink is to the other dashboard.

Example:

You want to have a "Master" dashboard that shows the overall metrics for John and Jane. You also want to have a "filtered" dashboard that shows those same metrics but only for John and another but only for Jane.

Create the "Master" dashboard. Put it and all underlying reports/sheets into a single folder.

Save the folder as new.

Update formulas in metrics sheets and reports to only show data for John.

Save the folder as new.

Update formulas in metrics sheets and reports to only show data for Jane.

Now you can insert a shortcut widget on the "Master" that includes links to John's Dashboard and Jane's Dashboard. A widget on John's that contains links to the Master and Jane's, and then a widget on Jane's that includes links to the Master and John's.

Depending on how your formulas and reports are set up, it shouldn't take too much tweaking in between folders.

For example...

If I know I am going to have a metrics sheet for Master, John, and Jane, then when I build out my Master Metrics sheet, I leave a cell open.

=COUNTIFS({Source Sheet Status}, "Open")

When I Save As New, I would update my formula to reference the Name column on the source sheet and the empty cell on the new sheet. Then I plug in "John" into the empty cell (lets just call that cell "[Column Name]1 for now) and my formulas will now work based on "John".