Date & Timestamp a specific cell change

Options

Hello,

I am very new to Smartsheet and I am working on a project tracking sheet. We have the following statuses in a cell: Unassigned; In Progress; Completed; Cancelled; On Hold

When a request is submitted this automatically triggers a 'Created Date' column that logs the date/time of creation. I would like this to be duplicated to two other columns I have 'Modified Date' and 'Completed Date'.

When the status in a cell changes to In Progress or On Hold, I would like the 'Modified Date' cell on that row to log the date and time.

When the status in a cell changes to Completed or Cancelled, I would like the 'Completed Date' cell on that row to log the date and time.

Could you offer step by step instruction or point me to a video that shows how to accomplish this, if possible.

Thank you so much for your help and sorry if I've explained poorly.

Best Answer

• Toufong Vang
    Toufong Vang ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 01/11/23 Answer ✓
    Options

@MBMaddox

Hi, here is another approach.

Let's say that your sheet is called My Sheet. Ensure that this sheet has the system column "Modified Date". In this sheet:

1) Create a Text/Number column named "Timestamp - Status In-Progress or On-Hold" (or something more preferrable).

2) Create a Text/Number column named "Completed Date".

3) Create a Text/Number column named "Last Status" (helper column)*.

4) Create a Text/Number column named "OK to Route?" (helper column) and place the column formula =IF([Last Status]@row = Status@row, 0, 1)

5) Create a new sheet that has only the "Primary Column". Let's name this sheet My Sheet - Record Dates (or something more preferrable).

6) Copy one row from "My Sheet" to "My Sheet - Record Dates". (Do this by left-clicking on the row number and select "Copy to Another Sheet..." from the options.)

7) Create a workflow automation configured as follows:

Trigger: When rows are changed...When Status changes to Any Value