Data Meshing from a report to another sheet wipes out the data

Options

I created a reported and I then exported that report into Excel and then uploaded that Excel into Smartsheets as it's own sheet.

I want to be able to data mesh from the report to the target sheet, but even though it's identical information when I data mesh it wipes out all of the information from my Assigned To column. This is my first attempting data meshing from a report, but I double checked my mesh and all of the columns are correctly matching.

Is there something different about using a report as the source sheet when data meshing?

Best Answer

• Tim C
    Tim C ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

For this scenario, you could put a "milestone" checkbox on your sheet for just the parent tasks, check all of those boxes and add a filter for the "checked box is a milestone". This will pull just those most important taka over. If you are looking to keep the parent and children rows but still see the Gantt I personally don't know a way to do that. When you collapse the Gantt at the parent level, the children task bars in Gantt go away because they don't have a physical location to be.

Answers

• Tim C
    Tim C ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hello! Just curious if there is reason you're offloading the sheet to excel then just re uploading it?

When you export data from Smartsheet to Excel, then bring excel data back in, you have to reconfigure drop downs and contact lists for data validation in Smartsheet. Try checking the source and target sheets to make sure they the same column type. https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/504553-import-files-to-create-new-sheets

You can use a report as a source for data mesh, might just want to double check your unique identifier also didn't get mixed up in the data transfer. https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/2483040-create-data-mesh-config

If that doesn't work, post some screenshots and we can attempt to fix it.

• BethWork
    BethWork ✭✭✭✭
    Options

@Tim C