Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Is it possible to assign a task to multiple people?

Options

Comments

• Kokeb Tefera
    Options

+1 vote. I agree with the other users. This is a basic function that you should include. 

• John Meunier
    Options

+1 This would be a great feature to implement.

• MarkCo
    Options

+1. It astounds me that this isn't implemented yet. It's a basic feature in almost every other PM software. 

• J. Craig Williams
    J. Craig Williams ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

I don't understand why people say other PM software do this.

Nearly all that I know of do not.

Can anyone site ones that do?

Craig

• Monica Evanchik
    Options

I've been working in Smartsheet for all of 2016. It seems to me that by allowing tasks to be assigned to a "group" - which is a functional part of Smartsheet already - this could be easily achieved.

Tasks assigned to the group would be displayed as belonging ot the group. If the taks were to be broken out to individuals later, it would be easy enough to change the assignment.

• Tim Meeks
    Tim Meeks ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Craig,

I know that MS Project does.  I can't speak for other softwares as this is the main one I've used.

Tim

• Symont
    Options

Hello Craig,

All the big names that I know of, like MS Project, Primavera or another that I can retrace, do it. But I suggest that you look at simpler solutions like the open source ProjectLibre. You can conviniently assign multiple ressources, by %, to a task.