Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Subcontractor needs help

John Crosby
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

I'm brand new to smartsheet and I'm trying to figure out how to best structure my sheets for managing multiple projects.  We're a construction subcontractor with 50-60 different projects in process at any given time - new ones added nearly everyday and other completed projects dropping off.

Do I need to set up a separate sheet for each project to track tasks, deadlines and completion, or is there way to set them all up in one sheet using the indent feature to make the tasks and subtasks for each project collapsible?

Also, is there a way to "archive" completed projects so i can get to them if necessary but otherwise don't see them?

Thanks.

Comments

• The indent versus new sheet issue is dependednt upon personal preferences.  If you have project sthat have comprehensive set of tasks that if expanded will force one to scroll and scroll and scroll to get to the next project, I would personally perfer different sheets and if needed some columns can be linked between the sheets.

if you keep it in one sheet, I would recomment a column with a title like "Done?" with drop-down values "Yes" & "No" or Red Button & Green Button.  All Reds/No are open, all Yes/Greens are done and then have a condition that makes all lines with greens get 'crossed out'. To make i even cleaner, create a report that reports on all that are not green.  In this report, you will only see the projects tha are in play.

• You might want to consider creating a Master Sheet.