IF formula and AND

Hello I am a novice on Smartsheet as well as formulas. I have created a sheet that tally's the results of survey. I created an IF statement to calculate the answers =COUNTIF({CCA Training Survey Range 5}, "strongly agree") and the next column is =COUNTIF({CCA Training Survey Range 5}, "agree"), etc. to the strongly disagree. I can get a running total and percentage but now I need to pull out the results of survey by month. So, I need to know the results of survey for month of January, February, March, etc. as well as the running total which I already have. I know you can do an AND statement for dates but not sure if you can combine?; hopefully this question makes sense.

Thanks, Debbie

Best Answers

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hey @Debbie Marcusson

Yes, you can have multiple criteria using the COUNTIFS (plural) function. The syntax is the same that you're already using

=COUNTIFS(range1, criteria1, range2, criteria2, range3, criteria3......) with as few or as many ranges-criteria that you desire. You must always add the terms as a range-criteria pair. The different terms within COUNTIFS are AND criteria, that is the Count will be based on criteria1 AND criteria2 AND... all being true.

Designating the month depends on how your data is being gathered. Are you rolling this into a summary sheet so that you have the months 1-12 already designated in your target sheet? If you can help me understand your data, I will be happy to help you build your formulas.

Kelly

• Kelly Moore
    Kelly Moore ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Hey Debbie

Thinking about how to layout your data in the summary sheet - off the top of my head (not knowing your source data) I would have these columns

Month Name, Month Number (this could be hidden), Year?, Strongly Agree, Agree, Disagree, Strongly Disagree, etc