Moving rows/updating cells

Options

I manage a portfolio of projects which I have to report on. I'm a Pro user, so I don't have the functionality that could probably make this task very easy. My project managers are required to use a company solution (not smart sheet to create project plans and updates). I've created a smart sheet that lists all of the projects along with various data (phase, go live date, implemented date, comments for high level updates, etc...). The issue I'm running into is my boss wants data reported and it involves a lot of filtering (think pivot table that isn't included in the Pro version). My dashboard doesn't take into account the filtering logic when reporting statuses. I got the dashboard to work if I broke out the individual filtering onto separate sheets. So as an example, any projects on hold, I used automated logic from the main portfolio and copied the row out to an "On Hold" spreadsheet. I then take the count from the on hold spreadsheet and display on the dashboard. My issue and what I need help with is when the on hold status changes to anything else, the copied row to the On Hold spreadsheet isn't dropping off. It remains on the On Hold spreadsheet, but now it may say Planning. In the main spreadsheet, where the project was updated, everything looks fine. How do I get the copied row to essentially delete when the status changes?

Or is there another way to do this? Cell linking updates the sheet, but again the changed status is now in the "wrong" spreadsheet.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Best Answer

• Genevieve P.
    Genevieve P. Employee Admin
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Paula D

Copying rows will copy the information statically, as you've found. The rows won't be synced back to the original sheet unless you've applied Cell Linking.