Summary Fields: Percentage of Completed Checkboxes

Allison Caskey
edited 12/09/19 in Formulas and Functions

I'm very new to Smartsheet and hoping someone can help me. I have created a checklist, with different categories divided up by parent rows, and the tasks listed as children under the categories. I have a checkbox column and each task (in the children rows) has a checkbox. I have figured out how to calculate the percentage of completed tasks in each category in the parent rows, but I would like to be able to calculate the overall percentage of completed tasks in a sheet summary field. Is this possible? I cannot find a formula that will calculate all of the children rows together. I have included a screenshot to demonstrate what I mean!

Screen Shot 2019-10-16 at 11.10.17 AM.png

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Allison,

Welcome to the Community and the wonderful world of Smartsheet!

I'd recommend turning on the automatic % Complete / Duration and more in the Project Settings and then link from that to the Sheet Summary.

Would that work?

Hope that helps!

Have a fantastic day!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

work-bold

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Feel free to contact me for help with Smartsheet, integrations, general workflow advice, or anything else.

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

I am assuming you are using the CHILDREN function in each of the Parent rows.

Try replacing that with the DESCENDANTS function and reference row 1.

If that doesn't work, there are a few other options. Let me know.

• Allison Caskey
    edited 10/18/19

Hi Andrèe,

Thanks so much for your quick response and your welcome!