October Question of the Month 💭 Join the conversation and receive a badge

Options

Comments

• Atroyanek
    Atroyanek ✭✭
    Options

I was afraid to go back to college after not taking it seriously straight out of high school. I had always been a fast learner and did well in school, but after I graduated high school; I went into living young, wild and free. Which, unfortunately, was not a good mix with college.

That was my first fear, was realizing this was not my time and dropping out. I ended up having a baby girl shortly after and she became my motivation. It was scary going back raising a child on my own, working full time, and going to school full-time with students that were about 8 years younger than me. However, no one treated me any different. I was able to make friends and succeed in getting my first Bachelor's of Science in Biopsychology with a minor in Ethics.

After a few years, I had enjoyed college so much that I went back to get a Bachelors's of Arts in Philosophy!

• Jeff Reisman
    Jeff Reisman ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 10/17/23
    Options

I did the scariest thing, but it all worked out.

While still recovering from a traumatic brain injury, I moved to new state, into a one bedroom apartment, with my long-distance girlfriend. I didn't have a college degree, nor a job lined up, but I had a truck to drive and enough money to last two months. (Years later, I learned that my parents thought I'd be moving back within 6 months, while my siblings guessed I'd be back in two months. That was 27 years ago.)