July Question of the Month - Join the conversation and receive a badge

Comments

• Shannon R.
    Shannon R. ✭✭✭

I think the best mentors are the ones that embrace the ideas of empathy and "radical candor" - they know how to acknowledge things that are happening and hold you accountable for your role in stewarding your own life and career. They ask great "how might you…." and "what if you reframed it as….." questions to help shift you into new and different ways of thinking. In short, they don't solve things for you but they help you get to the answers yourself!

• Ipshita
    Ipshita ✭✭✭✭✭✭

To learn, we all need to ask questions. So for me, a good mentor has to be one that’s APPROACHABLE so that we never hesitate to ask more questions and feel free to reach out to our mentor.

Ipshita Mukherjee

• Lora_la
    Lora_la ✭✭

Empowering

When I started as a project manager, I had a mentor who trusted me to do the work, provided support and advice in private, and allowed me to lead meetings and presentations. They were encouraging and always treated me as a peer. This really boosted my confidence and I never had imposter syndrome. It was great to have that type of trust and empowerment as someone just starting a new profession.

• Rebeca S.
    Rebeca S. Employee

Love the concept of "radical candor," truly a great quality for a mentor to have. And these questions are such a good idea!

Join us at Smartsheet ENGAGE 2024 🎉
    October 8 - 10, Seattle, WA | Register now

• Paul Newcome
    Paul Newcome ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Trust

Come see me in Seattle at ENGAGE 2024! I will be at the 10xViz partner booth throughout as well as the "Lets Talk About Community" Meet & Eat table on Tuesday from 11:45am - 12:45pm!

CERTIFIED SMARTSHEET PLATINUM PARTNER

10xViz.com

• Cathy Betzer
    Cathy Betzer ✭✭✭✭✭
  • dgarnas
    dgarnas ✭✭

Accepting.