Booking System in Smartsheets Forms

Options
DanUoL
DanUoL
edited 01/18/24 in Smartsheet Basics

Hello everyone,

I'm a relatively new user to Smartsheets and this is my first post.

I have a question please about Smartsheets forms. I work as a videographer and I'm trying to write a form that allows people to hire out equipment (say for the sake of argument we only have one equipment type at the moment at that is 'Kit01').

I would like to know a few things (and if they're even possible):

• How would i create it so that there are no double bookings? For example, ColleagueA has booked out Kit01 from 18/01/24 to 25/01/24 and ColleagueB (who doesn;t know this) wants to book out Kit01 from 19/01/24 to 23/01/24 - how can I ensure that ColleagueB isn't able to make this booking because of the date clash? Is it possible to get an error message or something?
  • How would I be able to include a maximum hire time (say 7 days per booking) for the equipment? I.e if ColleagueA wanted to book Kit01 from 18/01/24 to 18/02/24 is it possible to reduce this so that the maximum range would be 18/01/24 to 25/01/24? The idea being that if it is necessary to book for longer, then just do multiple smaller bookings rather than one long one.
  • When ColleagueA opens up the Smartsheets form - is it possible that the form prepopulates with ColleagueA's credentials (i.e email address)? This would ensure that ColleagueA doesn't accidentally book out equipment for ColleagueB.

I hope that makes sense and thank you in advance for the support. Cheers! Dan

Answers

• Zachary Hall
    Zachary Hall ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hi @DanUoL,

Here are the answers: