Resource Allocation

Greetings, 

I am new to the aspect of resource allocation. 

I need to know apart from people can objects (computers, scientific instruments etc)  be allocated as resources, as I need to keep a tab on the overuse of certain equipments at my organisation. 

Next, can only people with licensed accounts be tracked as resources on Smartsheet ? I am able to add people who don't have a Smartsheet account, however I cannot see the percentage allocation under the resource view part. Is it because I am not a system admin? 

Thank you

Comments

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi,

Yes, objects can be allocated as resources. They need to have an email address and be invited as a user to the account, but it doesn't need to be confirmed so you could use computer1@company.com

No, it's only the resource viewers that need to be licensed users so everyone and everything can be tracked as a resource.

You don't need to be a system admin to see the resource allocation. Have you followed the steps in the link below?

More info: https://help.smartsheet.com/articles/1346971-resource-views

Resource Viewer

Resource Viewers are able to track everyone in the account's allocation percentage across all sheets. A Resource Viewer needs to have a user license under a Business or Enterprise account. (More information on this feature is available in the Resource Views help article.)

While a license is required to become a Resource Viewer, everyone on the account (both licensed and unlicensed users) can be tracked as a resource by the Resource Viewer.

Hope that helps and let me know if it still doesn't work after you followed the steps above!

Have a fantastic day!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant @ Get Done Consulting

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35