Rows deleted when deleting columns connected to formatting

Josh Hunsaker
edited 12/09/19 in Smartsheet Basics

Hello smartsheet community, 

Initially I was tracking completed tasks with a "Done" column which would automatically format the row. After needing to add more options like "Cancelled", "In Progress" etc. I opted to create separate column which contains those options.

After clearing all of the "Done" column formatting I went to delete it and received a warning stating "This column is used in one or more filters. Deleting this column will modify those filters." I had already cleared all of the conditional formatting and filters using that column so I clicked okay and much to my chagrin, nearly all of my rows were deleted (>1000 to <80). I quickly exited the browser before smartsheet could autosave and was able to recover my sheet prior the the save. 

I have a few questions:

  1. Is there a way to find where a column is used in formatting so I can manually remove it? Or get a list of where the column is used and how?
  2. Is there a way to revert back before a save or to a previous save without going through the entire backup process? i.e. I made a mistake, how can I go back. 

Thank you all!

Josh

Comments