Formulas Not Autofilling With Form Submission

I'm having some issues with a formula that refuses to autofill with a form submission. The form is submitting new entries at the top of the sheet and I have two cells below it that contain the formula. According to this help article, it should be autofilling the formula into the new row.

What has been driving me crazy was that it worked several times before and it decided to stop working after I added some automated workflows to the sheet. I tried disabling the workflows but I still can't get it to function properly.

I'm a bit new to using Smartsheets so I have never run across this issue before. Does anyone know what might be causing my problem? Also, if you need any clarification or additional info, please let me know.

Best Answer

• Joe Liotta
    Answer ✓

I talked with Smartsheet Support. They told me that there is a known bug that might be causing the problem:

"Please also note that there is a known bug when a form is submitted, formulas won't auto-fill if they reference a field in Sheet Summary."

The formula that's giving me issues is referencing the sheet summary so that's most likely the problem. Just letting everyone know for future reference if anyone runs into the same issue and comes across this thread.

Answers

• Andrée Starå
    Andrée Starå ✭✭✭✭✭✭

Hi Joe,

I'd be happy to take a quick look and see if I can spot the reason for it not working.

Can you describe your process in more detail and maybe share the sheet(s)/copies of the sheet(s) or some screenshots? (Delete/replace any confidential/sensitive information before sharing) That would make it easier to help. (share too, andree@getdone.se)

I hope that helps!

Have a fantastic week!

Best,

Andrée Starå

Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

SMARTSHEET EXPERT CONSULTANT & PARTNER

Andrée Starå | Workflow Consultant / CEO @ WORK BOLD

W: www.workbold.com | E:andree@workbold.com | P: +46 (0) - 72 - 510 99 35