Welcome to the Smartsheet Forum Archives

The posts in this forum are no longer monitored for accuracy and their content may no longer be current. If there's a discussion here that interests you and you'd like to find (or create) a more current version, please Visit the Current Forums.

Drop down list data from column in another sheet

Nayshil
Nayshil
edited 12/09/19 in Archived 2015 Posts

Hello Users,

I am very new to SS and was wondering how I might go about achieving the ability to link a cells data to an entire column in another sheet.  For example, I have a "Current Jobs" sheet and a "Distributors" sheet.  When I enter a new job in Current Jobs, the Distributor field in current jobs must only contain Distributors that have already been defined in the "Distributors" sheet.  A drop down list containing data from the "Distributors" sheet would work well.  Is this possible?

Thanks

Nayshil.

Comments

• JamesR
    JamesR ✭✭✭✭✭✭

This has been raised many many times and it is being looked at by smartsheet but at the moment the answer is no.  It is on their route map but n idea when or if it will be implimented.

It is such an obviouse enhancement that ca nbe achieved in many different ways.  

In the mean time have a report from the Distributers sheet that lists those that have been approved. This means that they only need to look at the report rather than the whole sheet to find a suitable distributer.

• Thanks for the response James!  We'll just have to wait for this it seems.  It would also be nice if there was a way for users to track the status of ER's as well.

• JamesR
    JamesR ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 05/29/15

http://www.smartsheet.com/product-roadmap

not a lod of detail but better than nothing.

Phaps Smartsheet could put the link into the Quick Links