[GIVEAWAY] Win 1 seat to a Multi-Day Smartsheet University course

Comments

• My favorite course was a course I took back in the mid-90s. It was an intro to sociology and the course was extremely interactive and the instructor was very insightful - and funny. Not only did I learn a lot, but he definitely kept my attention 🙂!

• Colemcgu
    Colemcgu ✭✭✭

Just last week I went to the Glass Craft and Bead Expo in Vegas. It was 4 days of classes 8-5 on a variety of areas and medium. I am a hobbyist lampworker. I usually work in borosilicate glass. Boro is essentially pyrex. Takes lots of heat and slow to move. I took a class using soda lime glass also known as soft glass. (think glassware). This glass takes a lot less heat to move. The class I was taking was making hummingbirds with soft glass. For the most of the morning my work was crap. But I persisted, used a much gentler flame and made some pretty incredible iridescent hummingbirds. I didn't give up, shifted my skill set and had an instructor that took my current skills and helped me bend them to make them fit.

• My favorite class was a course in journalism from the WSU Murrow school on how to write for news. The focus was on how you put key details and facts first, followed by less-important details and then leaving off non-important information.

The course was brutal and every submittal came back with red marks all over it. But, the methodology is something I'll never forget. The more I write in business communication the more I realize how those principles can be used in many other disciplines. Writing efficiently is a useful skill to save everyone time.

• Any course where the material is explained, then applied to real-life, meaningful scenarios and time is given to practice what is learned.

• My most valuable course in high school was Auto CAD. Although I was the only female in the class, it set up my career path and led me to where I am today.